illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

When the dead resurrect

2 Comments

im zombie

Resurrection. It’s a TV show, soon to start its second season – maybe you’ve heard of it.

For those of you that are like “I don’t watch TV because I actually have a life…hahaha…unlike you, loser”, I say hahaha I also don’t watch TV because I live on the internet.

One of my favourite pastimes is to get stuck into a brilliantly intelligent show – and I hunt all over for them. The other day I came across a trailer for Resurrection, and thought why not? I know I’m late to the action, only hearing about it just before the start of the second season, but I watched all of it in one sitting so I feel entitled to an opinion.

Resurrection is a show about…well…resurrection. There’s a small town in America (of course), which has residents who are conservative and quite Christian. One day something weird happens and a boy who has been dead for 32 years randomly appears in China, and he hasn’t aged a single moment. The weird get weirder when more of the dead appear to have risen, and shake this town up.

If resurrection became a real thing in this universe, it would be both freaky but also cool. I would get to see my grandparents again, we’d all stop fearing death and disease would just be a discomfort rather than a threat to life. Sounds cool right?

Well these people have been popping up in random locations and trying to reunite with their families. Cool right? Here’s the thing…they all revive looking immaculate. Their clothes are straight from catalogues and their hair sparkly clean. If I resurrected from the dead, no doubt that I would come back in either my pyjamas or my tracksuits. My hair would most likely be in a messy bun – definitely not camera friendly.

The show is definitely interesting, but as remakes of darker European shows, the American versions can seem much more chirpy and sunny. Then again, I’m not one for scary stuff.

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “When the dead resurrect

  1. It all sounds rather Stepford to me….not sure the whole world resurrecting would be a good thing actually. Yes, it would be great to hang on to your loved ones, but sometimes, you know, you’re kind of well-rid of certain persons…..hmmm. Food for thought here.

Care to share what you think?

