illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

The incidental discovery of treasure

2 Comments

Today, I was cleaning, clearing and rearranging, when I made a discovery.

My house is cleaned on a regular basis, but there are always corners I can’t reach and furniture I can’t move, which means that the entire house needs to undergo a huge clean up operation every couple of months. Today was on of those days. If only I did major clear out of my home more often – I wouldn’t need to search for another gym ever again.

Even though my back aches like it has aged by 90 years in the last few hours, I am here to report my findings to you, lovely reader.

In my bedroom I have a heavy, white vanity table. It’s not the standard cutesy thing – this one is huge and it means business! On it I have every possible object in the world, except a vanity mirror and make up. These circumstances make this table in particular really difficult to move. But with the sun shining and the energetic determination I woke up with this morning, nothing was going to stop me from cleaning behind it. It took me 20 minutes to inch it away from the wall so I could get behind it, but it was 20 minutes well spent because I couldn’t contain my excitement at what I discovered.

I found a pile of notebooks and folders, which had fallen behind the table and lost in time for the last century or so. Opening the purple folder was the most delightful thing, because I remembered what I had kept in there – my old drawings! These aren’t amateur paintings done in school when I was still too young to understand the building blocks of a simple circle. No, these are drawings I had done during my teenage years.

I have always had a love of animated movies and cartoons. I still do. I have always loved the freedom to create anything you wish when you choose to tell a story in drawings. And that’s exactly how I spent my hours at school – why don’t teachers ever appreciate your artistic drive and inspiration?

So I thought I’d show you a few! Some belong to a story I had begun telling before Disney called it Tangled – about a particularly feisty Rapunzel who had no desire to fall for the Prince Not-So-Charming. Some are just scribbles which look a bit emo from this point in time. Regardless, I hope you enjoy!

20140724_161047_resized 20140724_161217_resized 20140724_161354_resized 20140724_161448_resized 20140724_161528_resized 20140724_161631_resized

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The incidental discovery of treasure

  1. Gosh, it’s like a time capsule isn’t it? I wonder how you’d draw these same things today? Hmm……

Care to share what you think?

