illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

Revealing a part of my secret identity

2 Comments

im medical student

Who am I?

Who are you?

Who is anyone?

Big, serious questions which might allow me to get away with sounding super philosophical.

Just as I promised in my previous post, I will be making some sweet revelations on illustrated moment  – such excitement!

Today’s big reveal is: I am NOT Batman. Sigh. However much I try to make it happen, it’s just not happening. Even though I’m fully capable of making an awesome costume with the cape and all – I don’t yet have a couple of the vital skills needed to be the best superhero, such as ultimate fitness, super strength and a couple of billion dollars. I also don’t have the time to be the Dark Knight – during the day I am chained to a university and during the night I am chained to a desk succumbing to the weight of textbooks. My current occupation both day and night is being a medical student – that’s about as far as possible from Batman you could get.

Illustrated moment is my escape. It’s my corner of the internet where I can scribble a quick drawing and then write far too excessively in an effort to coax some love out of you! This blog is personal to me. Through it I have been documenting my smiley ups and my annoying lows, and it has been an odd source of therapy for the crazy within me. And readers like you just make everything 100 times better! That is why you have given me the push to take off my imaginary but seriously amazing mask and reveal a part of my identity. This piece of information will become even more relevant in the next couple of months as I continue to explain each and every single project I am excitedly taking on!

You may think that passing exams and completing the penultimate year at medical school will mean that I get a huge holiday away from everything to do with work – but you and I are both incredibly wrong.

I get about 3 weeks off before I start a work placement in a laboratory, which will extend until the beginning of the new term. The best part of this placement is that it’s voluntary – yet I’m still unsure if I made the right decision by choosing to stay in London instead of flying off to some tropical island surrounded by a coral reef so glorious it probably doesn’t exist. At some point during medical school you are encouraged to explore an area of the field further to see if you would like a career in it – it’s called an Elective.

Now I know I will get carried away with the excitement of unknowingly mixing up colourful test tubes and praying hard that the people I work with don’t suss out that I really don’t know much – but I do want to keep a small record of the couple of months in my life where I get to play around as a lab rat, so I created a much less majestic blog for the experience. If you have any interest in reading about my adventure click here to join in on the nerdy fun.

If you wish to stay tuned on to illustrated moment only there will be no hard feelings – how can that be a thing between virtual friends?

Oh, and I have been making most of the wonderful sun – although I don’t have a healthy tan to show for it – I never tan. Stupid skin type. Stupid genetics.

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Revealing a part of my secret identity

  1. Nevermind…we didn’t want Batman anyway……stupid superhero…..we like our illustrated moments just as they are!

Care to share what you think?

