illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

Baggage

2 Comments

Often, you’re not dealing with the person, in fact, you’re dealing with their baggage.

With our long and interesting lives, we each accumulate really large and seriously heavy suitcases of the past and drag them with us wherever we go. Usually, we don’t want them. They’re a burden and they make your arms ache. You can’t move as freely as you wish with such heavy objects of old regrets and terrible experiences. However, you would punch the lights out of anyone who should dare to judge you because of your baggage. At the end of the day, you are standing here today, being the person you chose to be because you learnt from your past. As I’m sure someone has said before me, “if you can’t accept my past, you can’t accept me” and then walked off in a dramatic huff.

So why do we hate it when someone else gives us a glimpse of their heavy suitcases? We expect people to be respectful of the mess in our lives, yet we’re so intolerant of the experiences of others.

I am who I am because of what I have lived through. The storms that I survived and the good examples I witnessed have given me the confidence to be myself. I don’t have the right to judge anyone else, because they have also endured a life full of lessons and have become wealthier with those experiences.

Maybe it’s time we see our baggage as a treasure chest, and embrace its presence. With our rare gems and precious metals, we are mega-rich – metaphorically speaking, of course. So let us respect the baggage and be grateful for the sparkle it gives Life!

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Baggage

  1. I want her baggage … it’s suuuper heavy, but so easy to get rid of ;p

Care to share what you think?

