illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

The LEGO movie: everything is awesome!

Leave a comment

The internet is full of rave reviews about The LEGO Movie – and here’s another one.

As I walked into the darkened cinema to find my seat, I was followed by a large number of families with young children who were happy and impatient to see their toys come to life on the big screen. But I knew that they couldn’t beat my level of excitement. When you’re in your mid-twenties and your maturity level is severely bipolar, you get really excited to witness a fabulous cast, including Will Ferrell, Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Morgan Freeman, Nick Offerman, Liam Neeson and Will Arnett, tell an epic story using Lego!

Lego was my thing as a child. I’m sure a lot of you would chime in as well. It was the coolest and most imaginative thing, and I built little houses with palm trees in the garden and horses as pets. Although my creations were nowhere near as impressive as the models some children could create, I like to blame the pieces of Lego that would mysteriously go missing and my incredibly short attention spam. Spending hours and hours building and destroying Lego worlds when you were not tall enough to ride rollercoasters yet, now seems like the prelude to The Sims franchise. Bottom line is that I had so much fun and the moment I saw the trailer for the movie, I knew that I wanted to throw even more of my money at them to keep my entertained.

It was a fantastic movie! I laughed harder and louder than the kids sitting next to me – because I actually understood the comedy of it all. I cracked up at Batman and his cheesy portrayal of my favourite superhero. I don’t know why films like this don’t win the Oscars, they always insist on rewarding stupidly long, eerily silent, far too vulgar and boring movies instead. I’m not sure who watches those types of movies but I know that everyone should go to see The LEGO Movie! Whether you are young or old, you will witness the funniest and silliest film of the year with its epic fighting scenes and perfectly timed comedy. Our childhood toys have made a comeback and now everything is awesome!

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

Care to share what you think?

