illustrated moment

making sense with words and pictures

The chocolate eclair method

Leave a comment

After I had a long internal discussion with myself and finally managed to persuade myself to cut out the sugary goods from my daily nutritional intake, I was a happy bunny. I felt thin already! Just the act of saying “no, I will not buy that chocolate bar” in the imaginary scenario playing in my head, gave me confidence that this time I could do it!

I was good for the whole day – until it was lunchtime, and I was hungry. I tried to make educated food choices, and I reckon I did quite well. After all, it was only the first day. What do they always say? It’s a marathon, not a sprint, so you must pace yourself – and that’s exactly what I was doing. I paced myself with a croissant, maple pecan pastry and a packet of crisps. Of course, I went for the healthiest crisp I could find, after all, we’re on a diet right?

Lunch was satisfying, and I knew that I could avoid pastry for another 4 months at least – I have totally got this under control. I worked hard and I started to notice my fuel tank needed a top-up soon. After the disastrous lunchtime effort at a healthier lifestyle, I knew that I wanted to make myself proud by choosing a lighter option for dinner. I didn’t do too badly, some nice grilled chicken on a salad – if that’s not healthy I don’t want to know what is! I was happy…and then I locked eyes with the most gorgeous thing.

Hand-made chocolate éclair which was twice the size of a normal shop-bought one. It looked back at me. And our fate was sealed right there and then. I didn’t even think about resisting it – I excitedly handed over my money and became the owner of the most delicious chocolate éclair ever!

I had one last bite left, when it dawned on me – I may have psychological issues relating to (the serious lack of) will power. I ate the last bite. Suddenly, it all came back to me – the diet, the healthy food, the will to say no to the sugary goods. That’s it, tomorrow I’ll start again – but this time it will work.

I hope.

Author: illustrated moment

illustrated moment was born out of a desire to create and connect through drawing, animating and blogging. Check out the active blog of awesome and become a follower - so you can be in the loop with all the awesome updates. Enjoy!

Care to share what you think?

